Pasta, a vegan staple

Pasta (Before)

Where would I be without pasta? Hungry or not vegan – both being likely. I loved it before I went vegan, but after? It was a different type of affinity. That and Peanut Butter and Jelly (let’s just say I made a cake). But that’s a post for another day.

Where it really took off was when I began to make my own sauce. I just have a hard time tasting all that citric acid that comes along with the store bought stuff – and making my own is just too easy. But that’s a post for another day.

I’ve gotten pretty particular about what I’m eating (a little too particular, some might say) and have been trying to avoid Bisphenol A whenever possible. So when I learned that most cans (including a certain prominent organic tomato company)with Polycarbonate (and thus BPA), I knew I had to find another solution. After searching high and low for a BPA canned (or jarred) tomato (organic or not), I gave up and decided to do it from fresh tomatoes and this pasta was from the first batch of fresh (non-organic) tomatoes. How’d it turn out? Let’s just say I should have made this transition a long time ago.

Dinner was pretty straight forward:

Whole Wheat Bread (I made two loaves to see how it would be on the second day – I’m tired of waiting an hour and a half, but I love fresh bread too much)
Whole Wheat Bread
Salad (Organic Baby Romaine, Golden Raisins, Fried Onions, Cucumber, Tomato, Artichoke Hearts and Marinated Gigantes [if you ever see these on a menu, or in my case a Publix: buy them] and Italian Dressing [I need to start making my own dressing again…])
Salad
Whole Wheat Penne Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce and Parma!
Pasta (During)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

