Gnocchi, Kale, White Wheat Bread

Gnocchi

Gnocchi is one of my favorite things in the world. I’ve replaced it almost entirely for pasta (though some nice angel hair can be mighty tempting) as my starch for marinara sauce. I used to not even use marinara, instead sauteeing some garlic, deglazing with balsamic vinegar and adding a can of diced tomatoes. It was almost too easy (and fast!), but now that I’m trying to avoid BPA, I can’t use my beloved canned tomatoes.

So, marinara it is. Twist my arm, eh? The other substitution I made tonight was kale in place of spinach. Not sure why I wanted to change, but I bought two heads of kale the other night and wanted to use it up. The whole meal is super easy to make, starting with a little roasted garlic (and oil), wilting of the kale and adding marinara sauce.

Kale and Garlic

Once the gnocchi floats in the water, strain it, mix it all up and you’re ready to go. I told you it was easy, it’s just that you didn’t believe me.

I ran out of whole wheat pastry flour for my bread, so I had to use all “white wheat” for this batch and it was certainly a lot lighter, though every bit as delicious. I still haven’t done enough research into “white wheat” versus “whole wheat”, but that will have to be another day.

White Wheat Bread

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Gnocchi, Kale, White Wheat Bread”

  1. Gnocchi, Spinach, Italian Bread « Vegans Are People Too Says:

    […] I’ve blogged about gnocchi before, but I really just wanted to talk about this […]

Leave a Reply

