Heirloom Tomato and Cucumber Salad

Harry’s had some organic heirloom tomatoes on sale, and being a sucker for heirloom tomatoes, organics and sales I couldn’t resist picking some up even though I had no clear idea of what to do with them.

Heirloom Tomato and Cucumber Salad

So, I wasn’t terribly surprised when they were on the verge of going bad and I had to act fast.

A quick look around, had a spare cucumber and red onion and a salad was born. I also had some marinated gigandes beans (My Publix carries them on occasion, but you can get a gigantic can here) to throw in the mix.

I like acidity in my salads, so I skipped the traditional vinaigrette and went for straight vinegar. I used some white balsamic vinegar (my favorite vinegar with regular balsamic and malt coming in tied a close 2nd), dried cilantro (no fresh in the house), salt, pepper and a quick toss.

You have to let it marinate for a bit to let the flavors come together (give it 12 hours if you can), but I needed something for dinner right then. It was good anyway, but would have been better the next day.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

