Whole Wheat Farfalle, Basil Pesto, Heirloom Tomatoes

Whole Wheat Farfalle, Basil Pesto, Heirloom Tomatoes

I’m a sucker for heirloom tomatoes. Whenever I see them for a reasonable price (<$4/pound) I feel obligated to pick them up. Even if I know I won't possibly have time to use them. I think it's because there's just a short season for them (and good tomatoes in general, for that matter). So, when I saw them on sale recently, I grabbed four of them.

And, like clockwork, I forgot about them just long enough for them to be on the verge of going bad so I either had to use them or freeze them for a later batch of marinara. I had that basil pesto from before in the fridge and some whole wheat farfalle (which is frustratingly difficult to find at a decent price) in the pantry. Boiled up the pasta, diced the tomaoes and tossed it all together. Another delicious meal that took about ten minutes to make (once the water boiled, of course).

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

