Vegetable Lasagna

Vegetable Lasagna

We’ve been trying to eat more locally (much to the chagrin of my wife, who thought I was crazy before). So, we hit up a few of the local farmer’s markets to see what kind of produce we could find. It’s pretty hit-or-miss, but a few weeks ago, we managed to get a good haul:

Roma Tomatoes
Zucchini
Yellow Squash
Eggplant
Vidalia Onions
Bell Peppers
Shiitake Mushrooms
Peaches

We had gone into the shopping day with the intention of making two things: marinara sauce and lasagna with said marinara sauce, so we got exactly what we needed (and a few peaches).

I made my standard marinara sauce with the tomatoes, onions and bell peppers and thinly sliced the the squashes and eggplant, salting them to draw out the water. We did have a difficult time finding whole wheat lasagna noodles. It seems as though when I don’t need them they’re everywhere and when I’m looking specifically for them I can’t find ’em. We settled for some organic noodles with jerusalem artichoke flour, which were pretty good.

To approximate the ricotta cheese, I had an idea that turned out to work extremely well. I took some Teese and put in the food processor, added roasted garlic oil, dried basil and some breadcrumbs until it go to the consistency of ricotta. Perfect. And delicious. My first attempt a few years ago was a disaster. I tried using mashed cannellini beans and vegan parmesan. Not terrible, but not even close to giving the same flavor or texture.

Layer up the lasagna as follows: thin layer of sauce, noodles, Teese, vegetables, repeat. I finished mine with julienned shittakes and sauce, foregoing the traditional final layer of cheese. Bake at 350 degrees until you can easily insert a fork all the way through to the bottom of the pan (about 40 minutes). Lasagna is one of those really easy dishes that pack a lot of “wow” when entertaining.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

