Mango Salsa, Hummus

Mango Salsa, Hummus

For years, I’ve been telling my wife I’d make her mango salsa. And for years I’ve put it off. So, I wasn’t surprised when a mango ended up in our basket at the farmer’s market, whether I was conscious of it or not. But there it was when we got home and I was left without choice. Fruit salsas are a great summer treat and are really easy to prepare.

I diced up the mango and added some chopped cilantro, sugar, salt and a very tiny amount of cumin (very tiny). I finished it with a quick splash of Simpy Orange with Mango Juice to give it the necessary consistency. Let the flavors marinate for a few hours or overnight (or several days in my case as I ran out of time) and you’re good to. Enjoy with your favorite chip, rice or chicken subsitute.

For months I’ve been meaning to make hummus. I bought the dried beans, but they sat in my pantry forever. Until I decided to just do it. So I soaked the beans overnight and boiled them until tender. Puree in the food processor with tahini, roasted garlic, olive oil, salt and black pepper. It took me a while to find the right consistency, so I kept adding varying amounts of tahini and olive oil until it looked right (well, actually, a little looser than what you’re expecting as it will set up a bit when refrigerated). The only problem? I oversalted it. A lot.

So a few days later, I put it all back in the food processor with more soaked and boiled beans and it came out much, much better. Frankly, and not to boast, I like it better than most of the of ones you can buy in the store. The other problem? I made too much. Like a half gallon, which is a lot of hummus for two people. But, it can be frozen with very good results. So I put it in smaller containers and froze it so I can pull it out as needed.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

