Life without Teese was terrible

It’s become such a treat, that I just couldn’t imagine what I’d do without it. It’s not as if I use it all the time, but just the notion that I could use it any time makes me feel better.

And what better to do with Teese Mozzarella? Well, pizza of course!

This isn’t the first round of pizza using the good stuff (nor will it be the last), but this is the first time making my own dough. I’ve used frozen dough (both parbaked and raw) in the past and liked it well enough, but nothing is quite as good as when you’ve made it yourself.

And it’s all thanks to Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I have had fresh bread nearly every day since buying it and I don’t see that trend changing in the foreseeable future. And why should it? I make one batch of dough early in the week, pull of a piece for the night, shape it, let it rest and bake. Done. It’s not quite five minutes a day (they don’t count the proofing/baking process as work because you could be doing other things), but it’s pretty close.

I used their standard Olive Oil Dough for the pizza crust, using half Whole Wheat Flour and half White Wheat Flour and it was delicious. Never has a pizza crust had so much flavor – normally just the vessel to get the sauce/cheese/toppings into your mouth a la cake and frosting.

We typically make two different kinds of pizza and they’ve become the same two each now as they’re both just so good.

First one uses traditional Tomato Sauce (more on that tomorrow), Teese Mozzarella, Fresh Pineapple (trying to get away from canned foods, BPA and all) and Lightlife Pepperoni. Small variation tonight as I had an extra strip of Fakin’ Bacon in the cooler, so I crumbled that on top too.

The second one is my favorite (and that’s why I made it a little bigger). Instead of Tomato Sauce, I use my Basil Pesto (I usually make a big batch and freeze it), Chopped Artichoke Hearts (jar, not a can), Teese Mozzarella, Fresh Tomatoes (these were super ripe – to the point that one had gone bad the very next day) and then I drizzle a little Balsamic Vinegar over the top for good measure. Yes, it tastes just as good as it sounds. Maybe better.

You can see the before and after of each below.

Pineapple and Pepperoni (Before)

Pineapple and Pepperoni (After)

Pesto and Tomatoes (Before)

Pesto and Tomatoes (After)

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment